Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

Inside Polo 14

INSIDE POLO with Ron Allen


The opening tournament of America’s highest rated polo competition is the 26 goal Whitney Cup named after Cornelius Vanderbilt Whitney, three-time winner of the U.S. Open and past Chairman of Pan American Airways. Just like the previous three 20 goal tournaments the Whitney Cup does not have a title sponsor.

Lechuza and Alegria faced off in the finals on a blustery Florida afternoon with the score tied at 2 all after one and 4 all after two periods. Alegria managed to come up with a two-goal lead by half time and then they turned on the after burners in the fifth chukker to establish a four-goal lead 12 to 8. They went on to win the Whitney Cup 14 to 10 as Lechuza failed to keep pace in the second half.

Alegria: Aguerre and Julian Mannix



Mariano Aguerre (9) and Hilario Ulloa (9) played strong in the middle with young MVP Facundo Obregon (6) knocking in 7 penalty shots for the win. Aguerre won his second title of the season to put the Whitney trophy next to the Barry Cup he took home last month. Ulloa’s horse Mia won the Best Playing Pony award.

Mariano Aguerre


All eight of the world’s 10 goal players are competing in this years 26-goal tournaments in Florida. The next event is the Gold Cup beginning on Thursday March 7th with a triple-header. Eleven teams will be competing in three brackets for a chance to win the crown with the Gold Cup finals slated for March 24th. The defending champion is Valiente.

Valiente: 2012 Gold Cup winner



Ron Allen reports on high goal polo for Pololine TV and ESPN Television